Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2013, 07:02   #16
Registered User
 
muttskie's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Kadey Krogen 39
Posts: 180
Re: Best way to organize NMEA cables

For anyone interested, the Maretron field installed connectors do no involve any soldering. Just some skill in wire connection and assembly. They are not cheap, but are very high quality. I do not possess the background that would allow fabrication of a can network from scratch, so the Maretron components allowed me to assemble a fairly complex and comprehensive network myself, just by studying up and being meticulous. I can recommend their stuff without reservation, though it costs a lot.
__________________

__________________
Bill Petras
Kadey Krogen 39
Little Fish
muttskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:28   #17
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Best way to organize NMEA cables

not sure how these prices stack up but heres Amphenol's lineup from Mouser

http://www.mouser.com/catalog/catalogusd/646/2614.pdf


Molex also do a range of Devicenet connectors and Tees

DeviceNet* Solutions - Molex
( sold through the Brad Harrision Connectivity brand)


dave
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2016, 09:30   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oakland CA
Boat: Morgan 46 ketch
Posts: 192
Re: Best way to organize NMEA cables

After deciding I didn't want to blow a couple hundred dollars on all these NMEA2000 cables, tees, connectors, etc, I got serious and found out that the data speed is quite low (250KHz) and the termination is purely resistive (no capacitance or inductance) 120 ohms at each end. So you can use terminal strips, 120 ohm resistors and crimp-on ring connectors to do all your data wiring below decks. This will apply for Simnet as well, but no terminations are required for Simnet.
__________________
waterman46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2016, 14:49   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mandurah, Western Australia
Boat: Roberts 45
Posts: 23
Re: Best way to organize NMEA cables

During the installation of the rate compass for our new autopilot I had to run the calibrated wiring up our mizzen as the AP compass had to be mounted high, ours being a steel boat. Of course the radar wiring goes up the mizzen as well. That have me a concern for induction interference given the compass is a robust but high sensitive instrument and the radar pulls 30A on transmit. So I set about trying to understand the shielding needs for the compass wiring. I go so exasperated from receiving half answers about the existing shielding in SIMRAD AND SIMNET wiring that I ran the compass wiring under aluminium channel on the outside of the mizzen mast. To me, shielding requires an earthing protocol and I never did understand how SIMNET system is shielded without any grounding. Still don't. Anyway the rate compass worked perfectly situated in guess it's academic now.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Velella99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2016, 21:03   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oakland CA
Boat: Morgan 46 ketch
Posts: 192
Re: Best way to organize NMEA cables

Been working all week on this so I know Simnet wiring is definitely shielded including the compass. But the autopilot AP42 does not have Simnet or micro-C connectors and it requires flying lead connections. They don't have a nice ground bus like my old Robertson AP. They give you just one spade terminal to connect a total of five grounds (boat's ground and all four input lines: rudder, compass, controller and power). I added a small terminal strip on the bulkhead just below the AP to take connections to all the shields and one wire up to the actual AP ground. Gotta wonder what they were smoking when they eliminated that ground bus.
__________________
waterman46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2016, 21:07   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oakland CA
Boat: Morgan 46 ketch
Posts: 192
Re: Best way to organize NMEA cables

And I was wrong in my earlier post, Simnet does require terminations as does any NMEA2000 network. It's just that they put it the termination in the power supply connector so you don't have to add it as a separate element, but it is there electrically if you use their power cable.
__________________

__________________
waterman46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cables, nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.