Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-05-2014, 02:04   #16

Boat: Bieroc 36 foot Ketch
Re: Rescue experiences and lessons

My only story is the one that has led me twenty years later to finally get a sail boat.

During the nineties I was a cop stationed at a costal town with an aluminium catamaran which we used for fishing patrols and rescues. I can't recall how the call came about but assistance was requested for a sail boat that had two elderly persons on board who had just come through a patch of bad weather in bass strait. We weren't sure of the actual problem as we were told the vessel was in good order and they were close to tenth island.

So a couple hours later we were with them. I can't remember how I got on board but I do remember my only crew couldn't swim so he stayed to operate our cat and I boarded the yacht and attached a tow line. We then started an ardenous slow trip back to our river which took us about six hours because we could only tow it slowly. I had no idea how to sail and the couple weren't up to showing me.

On board I discovered the 'very' elderly couple have sailed from Canada and were meeting up with their grand children who live in a little sea side town here called Bridport. They were both exhausted after battling heavy weather coming down the coast from Sydney.

They made me lunch and showed me around their yacht. Now I was used to the thumping of a cat over the waves and the noise of the twin outboards. What I was so amazed at was the comfortable ride on a sail boat. My partner was having a terrible slog in the police vessel, but I was in relative comfort, warm, fed and lots of conversation. I'd only ever known motor vessels. Now I wanted a sail boat.