Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-05-2016, 08:48   #1
Registered User
 
LeeV's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Md
Boat: Corsair Marine 36 trimaran
Posts: 350
This has everybody stumped!

The Situation: On our new-to-us C-36 there are 2 transducers under the forward berth. The one stbd of center is depth (working) and has a blank laying beside it. The other to port is the SOG, but is laying to the side with the blank plugging the thru hull.
Instruments: Nexus instrument cluster (wind, speed, depth), Raymarine C80 mfd chartplotter, gps, radar


1st Action: The only reason I could think of for the SOG transducer to be out of its slot is the paddle wheel, so I checked it, and lo and behold, it was stuck. I cleaned it up and got it to the point where I could blow on it and it would spin freely. Awesome; I solved the issue! Uh, not quite.....


Installation: I pulled the blank and quickly inserted the transducer. Oh %#@! The transducer has a much smaller diameter than the hole. What the *&^%? Hurriedly replaced blank. Bailed water. Pulled again (idiotic, but I just couldn't believe it!) with same results - definition of insanity.


I have a gps so I'm not worried about finding my SOG, BUT, I'd like to put everything back as it was, and this one makes no sense. The PO can't recall, and the question leaves everybody scratching their heads!



Any ideas???!


Thanks,
__________________

__________________
LeeV
Corsair Marine 36' Trimaran
"MOMENTUM"
LeeV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 09:03   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,355
Re: This has everybody stumped!

Well... it sounds like the wrong unit... or...Is the Oring on it? Paddle wheels gum up a lot, some people leave them out until they need to use it.
__________________

__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 09:19   #3
Registered User
 
LeeV's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Md
Boat: Corsair Marine 36 trimaran
Posts: 350
Re: This has everybody stumped!

I've cleaned it and it works like a charm. Seems to be the correct unit and all the original wiring but the diam of the transduced definitely doesn't match that of the through hull, and it looks like there were never any repairs.

It's almost as if the transducer is missing a sleeve or something, but I've never heard of that nor seen one in my research.

Odd, to say the least.
__________________
LeeV
Corsair Marine 36' Trimaran
"MOMENTUM"
LeeV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 11:05   #4
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 2,593
Re: This has everybody stumped!

Not sure I'd be playing mix'n'match with pieces securing a hole in the bottom of my boat.
__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 11:08   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 666
Re: This has everybody stumped!

get out the micrometer and calculate diameter difference. you might be able to get a larger o ring to make up the gap. leave the current oring in place and slide the new one on from the bottom of the unit You might need some sealant between them. you should put another ring at the top to keep the unit straight. BUT what is going to hold the unit positively in place? will iit screw into a fitting? I don't much like a push fit as the only thing stopping the water from coming in. you might lose the big o ring if you take the unit out. To save the flooding hassle while installing, dive under and plug from outside. So the only thing stopping the boat sinking is a well jammed plug, hmmm
__________________
dlymn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 12:02   #6
Registered User
 
LeeV's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Md
Boat: Corsair Marine 36 trimaran
Posts: 350
Re: This has everybody stumped!

The amount of water is not that terrible; just takes a little time to remove. As for the o ring, I don't think that will suffice. I didn't measure the difference, but it's substantial, almost as if the transducer needs a "jacket" to slide into to make up the difference!
__________________
LeeV
Corsair Marine 36' Trimaran
"MOMENTUM"
LeeV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 12:25   #7
Moderator
 
sailorchic34's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Islander 34
Posts: 4,812
Re: This has everybody stumped!

Don't suppose the blank beside the depth transducer is the sleeve that went for a walkabout from heeling??
__________________
sailorchic34 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 12:26   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,243
Re: This has everybody stumped!

I put a new DST800 speed / depth / temp sensor in, which of course needed a new through-hull. But if you look in that area now, both the old sensor, and the new one are adjacent to the through-hull!

So the question is : is there another newer speed sensor lying around, that you have not noticed yet? It could have fallen down into the bilge and be out of sight.
__________________
Bristol 31.1, SF Bay.
MarkSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 12:31   #9
Registered User
 
d4raffy's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Med
Boat: Sunbeam 44
Posts: 110
Re: This has everybody stumped!

Pull the other sensor - if they are the same diameter - may give some clues ?


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
d4raffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 12:47   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Re: This has everybody stumped!

On my tacktic set the SOG and temp had a sleeve on it to fit into legacy (B&G) thru hulls. Maybe the sleeve is missing as some have already pointed out. Most all are made by Airmar, you might want to reach out to them with this problem and they will have a better explanation.
__________________
HBWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 15:37   #11
Moderator
 
JPA Cate's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: aboard, cruising in Australia
Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Posts: 10,670
Re: This has everybody stumped!

Just a detail: the paddle wheel sensor does not necessarily give you speed over the ground, but speed through the water. Your GPS gives you SOG, which, any time you have current with or against you, will be different from what your knot meter reads out, and also affected by set and drift.

If the way the OP's unit worked before was with a temp read out too, that was supplied by a jacket sensor, then possibly the jacket part was either removed for replacement when it failed, or accidentally lost some time ago. HBWT's suggestion, above, could be an effective way of addressing the situation.

Ann
__________________
Ann, with Jim, aboard US s/v Insatiable II, in Oz, very long term cruisers
JPA Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 15:57   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
Captain Bill's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the boat
Boat: Endeavourcat Sailcat 44
Posts: 2,313
Re: This has everybody stumped!

I have a similar issue. I just got a new combination speed/temp/depth transducer with my new Ray Marine instruments. When I went to replace the old depth only transducer I found that the new one was slightly bigger in diameter than my old one. The new one is currently sitting next to my old depth only transducer until the next time I have the boat hauled at which time I will replace the old through hull and install the new transducer. In the meantime I can still get depth only from the old one. Maybe the PO had a similar issue and never got around to changing out the through hull. The new transducer has O-rings that provide a seal and also are spacers. I take it the O-rings are intact on the speed transducer.
__________________
Captain Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 16:09   #13
Moderator
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,183
Re: This has everybody stumped!

On my paddle wheel, the through hull can either be removed as a complete unit, or, the center part comes out of the "sleeve".
The bottom of the "sleeve" has a non return flap that helps to reduce the amount of water that enters the boat when the center part is removed.
See
http://www.nexusmarine.se/wp-content.../LogTH52mm.pdf

This is similar to the set up I have.
__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 03:46   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
roverhi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kona, Hawaii, Carlsbad, CA
Boat: 1969 Pearson 35 #108 & 1976 Sabre 28
Posts: 6,003
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: This has everybody stumped!

If the transducer doesn't fit the through hull it's possible the owner replaced the original speed instrument but never got around to installing the through hull for the new instrument's transducer. Any odd through hulls laying around the boat???

As Ann says, the paddle wheel transducer gives you speed through the water not speed over the ground except in no current, no leeway conditions.
__________________
Peter O.
'Ae'a Pearson 35
roverhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 05:24   #15
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Contessa 32
Posts: 1,421
Images: 2
Re: This has everybody stumped!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeV View Post
Installation: I pulled the blank and quickly inserted the transducer. Oh %#@! The transducer has a much smaller diameter than the hole. What the *&^%? Hurriedly replaced blank. Bailed water. Pulled again (idiotic, but I just couldn't believe it!) with same results - definition of insanity.
[...]
Any ideas???!
Are you sure you're not pulling the sleeve with the plug? They are two parts, and both can be pulled out. Normally, the sleeve should stay in the thru-hull when you pull the plug.
__________________

__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT100 bow thruster - has got ms stumped Pat Miller Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 04-04-2016 03:38
Help: Engine stops advancing at 1800 rpm.... stumped lamadriver Engines and Propulsion Systems 3 23-02-2016 02:22
Stumped memiller279 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 22-04-2013 08:42
Cutlass Setup Has Boatyard Stumped! tackdriver Engines and Propulsion Systems 16 11-08-2009 21:03
Jabsco Raw Water Pump ... I'm stumped! KaptainKen Engines and Propulsion Systems 5 12-04-2007 01:19



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.