Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2013, 06:51   #1

Boat: Lagoon 450
Sailing from Martinique to Annapolis

What would be the best route from Martinique to Annapolis. I have seen the routes from the Chesapeake to Caribbean, that intersect Bermuda as a stop over, but not interested in doing that. I am new at this, and also trying to get costs for an experienced captain.
Lastly, how long will a trip like this take? I realize wind and weather will dictate. I will be leaving Martinique mid April.
Fearnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 06:58   #2

Boat: Boatless
Re: Sailing from Martinique to Annapolis

What boat?

Trip is about 14 days without stops. You can go offshore to Bermuda or through the Bahamas or through the Old Bahama Channel to Florida and then follow the E. coast to Annapolis. /...

A skipper is going to want $2,500 to $4,000 if he is willing to do it with just you as crew.

"Remember, experience only means that you screw-up less often."
s/v Moondancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2013, 07:05   #3

Is there a reason why I wouldn't be able to drawl a straight line from Martinique to the mouth of the Chesapeake and follow it? With the wind blowing mainly out of the East, it would seem like I could do a straight shot.
Is there a reason for heading to Bermuda, or the Keys?

Thanks
Old 31-08-2013, 07:09   #4

Boat: Boatless

No, easily done providing the boat and weather cooperate and you don't need to stop for water, fuel or repairs