Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-02-2011, 11:53   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Need Suggestions on New Chart Software

I need new chart software for the research boat that I run for a living.

I don't necessarily want the least expensive software out there. I have the budget for expensive Nobeltec Admiral like software if this turns out to be what serves my purposes the best.

I do not know much about the home brew electronic chart software and it worries me that there might be a huge learning curve to get it working well. I have seen the posts with people having trouble getting this software to work. I am not suggesting it is bad, I don't know, it just has me concerned. How true is this? How easily does the home brew software install and work compared to something like Nobeltec?, which I am familiar with.

There are two really important things that are a must....

I need to be able to categorize way points and routes by user. What this means is that I need to be able to assign way points (sampling stations) and routes to different scientists that I work with. I cannot have all the scientists way points and routes showing at the same time, the screen just gets too cluttered, which is what I have now.