Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2012, 04:25   #1

Boat: Beneteau First 38
Flat Roll Bond Evaporator Source

Well the old BD-2.5 finally died its final death. Time to rebuild.

I'm looking for a source for Roll Bond Evaps. I would like two - 8" wide by 36-42" in length that can be bent at 12 & 20" from line set.

I've found some on RPart.com but they're 11.38" wide. I've thought about sheering the edges to desired dimensions but have no experience with this small of equipment. (Commercial/Industrial Refrig.Tech by trade)

Any info you be most helpful.

Cheers with warm rum
I'm fighting currents to get back to you, listening to the flow of your liquid language as you beckon me, "Come Play"
Mariners Cove, CI. Anonymous.
Caribsailors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:30   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: Flat Roll Bond Evaporator Source

A BD 2.5 compressor failure would be extremely rare if it was on an air-cooled condensing unit. Finding an eight inch wide evaporator is going to be hard to find. Have you tried Dometic and Frigoboat.

Have you considered using 25 feet of ¼ inch OD refrigerant dehydrated copper tubing for an evaporator? I built these at one time clamped in back of a stainless steel 18 gauge sheet. I believe Frigoboat has this simple inexpensive type evaporator although it is wider than 8 inches. SeaFrost will make you an evaporator plate any size but it is not aluminum roll bond. On more than one boat where evaporator coil was behind box liner and failed I clamped 25 to 35 feet of ¼ aluminum tubing to box walls as a good solution.
Richard Kollmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 05:45   #3