Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-08-2019, 01:37   #1

Boat: 80 Hunter 33' & 79 Catalina 27'
Venturing out of Alaska this fall for a spell.

Self taught, jack of trades, master of none, easy-going non-smoker who continues to learn and find new adventure on a daily basis.

What would you like to know about a guy of 40 who is trying to break into to sailing? And why has it taken so long? Well, time is relative.

I talk a little but would rather listen, observe and experience. Though I have been known to ramble. Most of the time, I am trying to just be, and not think too much - so, not looking for adventure, I just need to stay immersed in the real world to keep me awake and engaged.

Learning how to sail is also about getting from A to B, acquiring some new skills without dying or going broke, maybe even making a living. The question is Where is A and B? And what can we discover in between?

This fall I am heading south from Alaska to West Palm Beach, Florida to visit my girlfriend who is in school there, and I aim to stay true to my nature and sense of sustainability. Thus, sailing. And there is no hurry. I would love to hitch a ride starting anywhere in this hemisphere, but preferably west coast due south then east.