Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Pacific & South China Sea
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2020, 10:48   #1

Sailing in the Puget Sound is not great

I am somewhat new to sailing and have spent a year sailing in the central(seattle, bainbridge, whidbey island) Puget Sound(washington state) and I have found that the sailing is way too variable and light to be considered good. Specifically during the summer months. Fall and winter are a different story, as we do get good days with cold sun and strong winds in these seasons.

I have not made it yet up to the San Juans, so up there in the summer it might be different. Probably is as it will get winds from the Straight of Juan de Fuca.

I am curious what you all think? Am I wrong in my opinion that its just not great sailing?
FremontSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 11:03   #2

Re: Sailing in the Puget Sound is not great

Sailing in Puget Sound can often be motoring in the summer! I've had great sails in the summer in the afternoon IF the wind builds. But with tidal currents etc, if you want to get anywhere, you are probably motoring a lot because there's a 50/50 chance you are going against the tide. But beam reaching across from Seattle to Bainbridge etc has been some wonderful sails. It's N and S that's the issue!

In the San Juan's the summer afternoon wind coming in the Straight can be stronger than you wish. But inside the islands it varies.

Cheechako is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 11:07   #3

Boat: Colvin, Saugeen Witch (Aluminum), 34'

FreemontSailor, you are correct.

San Juans also light, variable.

Admiralty inlet/Port Townsend bay has decent wind for day sailing.

Steve
Panope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2020, 11:14   #4

Boat: 34' Crowther tri sold 16' Kayak now