Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2008, 14:58   #1

Boat: 1979 Catalina 27 - Enzian
Regular Spinnaker without a pole?

I have a Catalina 27 that came with a spinnaker but no pole. I'm on the Columbia river. When we have a light westerly, we just manage to keep up with the current. I'm not experienced enough with spinnakers.

Can I try sailing purely down wind without a pole? If I can keep the spinnaker open, would I have and safety issues?
paulgauche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 15:45   #2

Boat: Sceptre 41
Spinnaker's can cause a lot of problems if you don't get them down soon enough. The problem with using a spin w/o a pole is that in order to go deeper down wind you need to get the tack of the sail to winward of the Main sail. I wouldn't put up a spin in anythign more than 10 knots w/o experience. They can lead to some real fire drills.

Charlie

Between us there was, as I have already said somewhere, the bond of the sea. Besides holding our hearts together through long periods of separation, it had the effect of making us tolerant of each other's yarns -- and even convictions. Heart of Darkness
Joseph Conrad
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 15:59   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43
In a very light breeze...

I ran a spinnaker on the Van de Stadt 6.5m that I built more than a few years ago.

We were sailing off Wewak (NW coast of New Guinea) and the prevailing winds were very light.

I don't recall any problems at all.

We did have a proper spinnaker pole. I'm sure one could be made from some aluminium tube and fittings from your local chandler for a fraction of a boat buck. For the cost the enjoyment factor in light wind is large.