Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-08-2013, 18:15   #16

Boat: Now we need to get her to Louisiana !! she's ours
Re: How to make money while sailing?

We were lucky. Connies a RN and has found work all over the place over the years! Im a Machinist, welder, diesel Mechanic, and I always found something to do ! So up till I retire totaly, we can always find something to pay our way ! We also have been stupid lucky with some land we bought in Alaska, so we can cruise pretty easy as far as money go's. but then we spend a lot of time on the hook and live pretty cheap !! don't have to but it's we like !!
Old 24-08-2013, 19:11   #17

Boat: Pearson 365 Sloop and 9' Fatty Knees.

I have had a few friends that worked as they went along, mostly from the boat on a CPU. They told me that they stayed pretty tight lipped as to the business they were in to dissuade a rush of entrepreneurs.
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming: Wow - what a ride!"
Celestialsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2013, 19:11   #18

Boat: no longer on my Cabo Rico 38 Sanderling
Send a message via MSN to John A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celestialsailor View Post
A juggler back in the 80s/90's by the name of Ray Jason did that and was able to stay out there for some time. I believe his boat was named "Aventura". He wrote a book which was quite entertaining.
Ray also wrote for several sailing magazines, he was also an extra in the movies "Pirates of the Caribbean" for the filming done at St Vincent in the 2000's.
He juggled bowling balls when he performed at Pier 39 in SF.
John A is offline   Reply With Quote