Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2017, 11:50   #1

Boat: Sabre 34II
new guy here

Hey guys,

I have been lurking here for a couple of weeks now and gained a lot of knowledge in this short time. Today, I took the plunge and signed up to be a part of this great community.

I am 39, married with 2 kids and we all enjoy sailing. We have been daysailing in Long Island sound x 3 years, mostly on rentals; dreams are getting bigger however, and I would like your advise. I don't like to be restricted by the time and place constraints of the rental places. We would also like to sail to Cape Cod and possibly Maine as well as Chesapeake someday, hopefully within the next 3-5 years. We can afford a boat but I am a newbie when it comes to maintenance and upkeep and hesitate to even think about it. Do we just keep daysailing for now? Is there an option of renting a boat for a few cruising days at a time? If buying is our only option, help me get rid of the anxiety associated with it

I also want to wish safety to members who are in Irma's path.

Thank you.
Knotical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 12:12   #2

Boat: Hanse, 400e - 40ft
Re: new guy here

Hi moored and welcome to the forum!

We opted to buy a nice, used Catalina 30 when we started out. Our assumption was simply that it had in basically bottomed out on price and we would be able to sell it for more or less what we paid when we were ready to move up or if we decided that we really didn't like sailing after all.

Interestingly enough, we sailed the same waters as you're describing!