Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2023, 12:29   #1

Boat: Jeanneau 40 DS
Starlink and Harware based VPNs

I’m an IT Consultant, and one of the companies that I work for has asked me to put a secondary VPN in for when I’m outside of US waters . Been using Starlink for over a year and are happy with it.

The company has a software VPN on the provided laptop and Laptop VM but they are asking that I get a U.S. based Ip address and look at putting a hardware VPN in line with my Starlink. I know that a lot of traffic goes though Stalinist Atlanta Hub but there is no actual VPN option with the Starlink router.

Can you use a VPN with Pepwave or Raymarine’s Yacht Link with a VPN provider ?

Anyone have any experience with this for those that still hold corporate jobs down and require VPN services ?
RedneckRedcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2023, 12:41   #2

Boat: Morgan 382
Re: Starlink and Harware based VPNs

You can put the Starlink router in Bypass and use any other router with it. VPN's supported in the router work fine.

What might not work is a VPN through a VPN. That is, if you have a VPN to a VPN provider via your router, and then you VPN to the company via the VPN on your laptop, that might be an issue.