Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2014, 22:42   #1

Send a message via Skype™ to mraymush
Internet from Anywhere

So, I'm a computer consultant by trade but have started sailing a lot lately. My goal is to get into a boat in the next year or two or perhaps start sailing around the world with someone else. My only concern at this point is being able to do what I do, professionally, from a boat, from anywhere in the world. I have a contract that I do from home, working 40 hours a week remotely. I live in California and my contract is in Texas. I've talked to a few people about consistent and reliable internet from anywhere in the world and I've actually been told it's possible, "but it will cost you." I'm willing to pay quite a bit of money per month to give the facade that I'm actually still working from my home office. Like $1000 per month. My questions to this forum (hopefully I picked the right forum) are 1. Is it possible? 2. How much is it going to cost me? 3. What equipment will I need? I'm actually toying around with the idea of purchasing all the equipment now and just setting it up in my tent trailer and start going to remote locations and see if it works. Is my idea a pie-in-the-sky idea or is it a realistic possibility? Keep in mind that I'd like to be able to take calls from my customers and remotely control their computers from anywhere in the world. If I can do that, then there's no need to find alternative ways of financing my boating/sailing desires. If it's just a fairy tale, then maybe I'll become a yachtmaster and start chartering, but I sure would love the "freedom" of doing my own thing. Thanks. This is my first post. Any resources/advice/suggestions you can provide would be fantastic!
mraymush is offline   Reply With Quote