Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-10-2020, 08:34   #1

Thoughts on buying used SCUBA gear

I am brand new to SCUBA diving, I am taking lessons right now. I purchased a mask, snorkel, and fins from my local dive shop where I am taking classes. I am borrowing the rest for the moment from the dive shop.

Is there any reason why I shouldn't buy the BCD, dive computer, and regulator used? Are there certain pieces one would buy used and others one would never buy used?

It looks like the savings is significant. The dive shop is says there is still $2500 worth of equipment to buy. I have seen complete sets on FB Marketplace for $1000 or less.

My hang up on the new investment is I don't think I will be using the equipment very often for the next few years.
Naus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2020, 08:45   #2

Boat: Boatless
Re: Thoughts on buying used SCUBA gear

I used my last set of gear for 12 years and only replaced because parts were hard to get. I replaced with second hand gear and have used that for 5 years. Only buy good quality and popular brands for ease of service.

However, have it serviced by a registered dealer before using.

"Remember, experience only means that you screw-up less often."
s/v Moondancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2020, 09:12   #3

Boat: '71 Cruise-A-Home Corsair 40' & Fiberform 28'

For recreational diving, and if you only plan to dive sporadically, I would recommend renting the gear for each trip to start off.

Other than a mask, definitely buy your own.

Concerning buying used gear, you should have the buyer agree to have it inspected by your competent dive shop prior to purchase. Poorly maintained gear can be a problem you don't want to buy into.
goguygo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2020, 09:32   #4