Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2020, 16:12   #1

Boat: Ranger 33
Epoxied Mat over Polyester Hull

I epoxied some mat over the inside of my hull in a small 1’ x 2’ area. When I was cleaning up the masking, I inadvertently caught the edge of my knife underneath the new mat (between mat and hull) and it started to delaminate from the hull. I used west with fast hardener, 1.5 oz mat, and peel ply over the top. The area is below the waterline and is probably a consistent 50 degrees. It’s been curing for about two days now. The hull surface was preped by removing paint with a wire brush on a drill, than cleaned with acetone, then brushed with a hand wire brush, then cleaned with acetone, then lightly hand sanded with 80 grid, then vacuumed. I have very little experience performing fiberglass work, but I would think that I wouldn’t be able to pull the newly epoxied mat off the hull by just wedging a knife in there. Boats are hard.
expozen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2020, 16:45   #2

Re: Epoxied Mat over Polyester Hull

Sounds like you did a great prep. That's how I fix blisters and I fixed some big ones last year. Make sure and wet the surface you are adding the glass mat to with raw epoxy after the acetone cleaning. Then lay down a wet mat and roll it well.
Good luck.
Happydrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2020, 16:47   #3

Boat: Milkraft 60 ex trawler

Mat?
Like chopped strand mat?

Pretty sure it doesn't work with epoxy.
Simi 60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2020, 16:49   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Ellis Flybridge 28

My first thought is that you didn’t get the correct ration of hardener to resin. How did you measure it?