Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2019, 14:32   #1
Eternal Member

Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Awlwood thining

As part of an extensive = expensive refit I am refinishing all the bright work. Those of you familiar with Cabo Rico sailboats know that is not a trivial job. After seeing another boat that applied Awlwood, I’ve decided to give it shot.
I’ve been doing bright work for over 25 years but I’m finding Awlwood a bit puzzling. I bought a qt of clear primer and a qt of gloss. First thing I noticed is that in a fresh can both have the look and consistency of water. The local ship carpenter recommended applying the primer with a rag like stain. OK but now that the cans have been opened for a week or so the contents are getting way too thick.
I can’t throw out half used cans, not for that price.
I’ve bought a can of brushing reducer but I don’t know if that will do the trick or if I should use something like acetone.

Anyone with some hands on experience? I’m probably going to need a total of a gallon of the gloss $$$$$
cabo_sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2019, 16:47   #2

Boat: US$4,550 of lead under a GRP hull with cutter rig
Re: Awlwood thining

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabo_sailor View Post
I’ve been doing bright work for over 25 years but I’m finding Awlwood a bit puzzling. I bought a qt of clear primer and a qt of gloss. First thing I noticed is that in a fresh can both have the look and consistency of water. The local ship carpenter recommended applying the primer with a rag like stain. OK but now that the cans have been opened for a week or so the contents are getting way too thick.

<snip>

I’m probably going to need a total of a gallon of the gloss $$$$$
Nothing wrong with using a cloth to apply the primer.