Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2008, 07:23   #1

Changing Engine Mounts

Hello, I am new to the forum and have a question on changing the engine mounts on my boat.

I just purchased a 1990 44' Tolly Craft with twin 400 6v53 Detroit diesel motors. The engine mounts are rusted pretty badly on the outboard side of both motors, due to pinhole leaks in the mufflers that sprayed them with a lot of salt water. I plan to change all the mounts while I am at it. I have owned boats for 25 years, but this is the largest and most complex. I have a lot of mechanical experience from growing up on the farm, and building my own race cars from the ground up, plus I have always done all my own boat maintenance, including a complete engine overhaul on my own.

I can see that I remove the bolts between the engine and the shaft and that is where the alignment must be correct when I am done. I have found instructions on aligning it that say for every inch of plate diameter, you have .001" of alignment tolerance plate to plate. I can't find any instructions on runout when the engine is turned over by hand. Is there any allowed and is the information on the plate to plate tolerance correct?

I am determining the best way to lift the motor to change the mounts. Are there any suggestions, like do you do both fronts with one lift, or both sides? Any suggestions on jacking points. I assume that all jacking must be done against the stringers and never the hull. I plan to rent a hydraulic porta-jack to do the lifting and to move things if needed for the alignment.

Any feedback will be appreciated.

Dave
davefm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:12   #2

Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS