Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-11-2021, 18:11   #316

Boat: KH 49x, Custom
Re: What boatspeed should I expect, as a percentage of True wind?

I'd like to call BS on this quote, but I'm not experienced enough to really say. I know GRIT can't match these numbers. We can do 10 in 15, but not at 47 TWA.

"The upwind performance boost of daggerboards is impressive. ‘The best VMG is usually around 48-53°,’ he says. ‘An Outremer will beat a good racer-cruiser monohull upwind in good conditions, with a target speed upwind of 10kts at 47° TWA in a true wind of 15kts.’ Few other cats can do that."

47 TWA, and making 66% of windspeed? That's got to be 33 AWA or less, and making 66% of windspeed. I think we'd be lucky to make 50% at that angle.

Is this possible?

Here's a link to the entire "sales pitch". https://yachtracing.life/outremer-the-yachtsmans-yacht/

Cheers.
Paul.
Old 18-11-2021, 19:05   #317

Boat: Sail & Power for over 35 years, experience cruising the Eastern Caribbean, Western Med, and more

Off the top of my head I guess a few things in the article need clarifying first:

- 'In good conditions'. Does he mean in flat water?

- The 4X and 5X models were referenced. They have rotating masts.

- These French multihull guys normally sail with the boat pretty stripped out.

It all adds up.

Outremer suggests a 10-15% performance increase from the rotating mast alone.

Here's an article and a video discussing it.

https://sailwildling.com/2014/09/13/...rotating-mast/