Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2005, 08:04   #1

Boat: New Bedford 35
Hello all, and a couple of ??s

Hello all ...

I'm very new to boats, sailing, and everthing that's involved - so forgive me if I slip into a state of dumbass.

A couple of quick questions specific to multihullers.

First off, to my limited understanding - the Prout catamarans seem to a very good reputation as accomplished blue-water cruisers - so I am surprised to find so many at the brokerage docks that seem to have a relatively low asking price. Is this a symptom of dated interiors and the absence of the ever-popular 'sugar-scoops' ... or there something more sinister at the root of those low prices?

Secondly - I recently saw some photos of a Fisher catamaran ... the catfisher. The lines of that boat (okay, and the inside steering station, too) really caught my eye. Those boats (their monohull motor-sailor sisters, as well) have a very distinct look, and I like it very much. Does anyone have any knowledge of these boats - the cat or the mono - either one? Is there any reason I shouldn't put a catfisher on my 'short-list' of potential 'next' boats?

Thanks in advance !

- doug
yaitsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2005, 10:19   #2

Boat: PDQ32
cat considerations