Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-03-2013, 15:02   #1

Boat: still looking
yet another which boat? thread

Morning all.
I am hoping to get some input from experienced sailors/liveaboards regarding which boats you members would consider likely prospects as a liveaboard/part-time cruiser.
firstly, I have no experience sailing. I spent a week on a friends cal 30 as an untrained gopher( calling myself crew would be a misrepresentation!) and caught the bug.
some info to help you all narrow the field is as follows
I am considering sailboats exclusively
30-35 foot range seems ideal for me as I would eventually single hand(after learning how)florida coast st. augustine/jax area
I would be at a marina or mooring ball near same and would spend about a year working ashore fulltime as I learned to sail. with plans for coastal cruising N. carolina to florida and bahamas
I am 6'1'' and prefer not to duck
I will be buying used, and have sailing friends to help with an initial inspection before having it surveyed
I have been looking for a few months on the usual used boat sites, sailboatlistings,boattrader, etc.. and have found several that caught my eye, and met my pricerange of 10k or less.
I understand repairs are to be expected and unavoidable. I have looked at and liked Bristol, newport, grampian , cal, and columbia boats in the 27 to 35 foot range.
so what say you all? input?? laughs of derision?
madgunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 15:44   #2

Boat: Watkins 29'
Re: yet another which boat? thread