Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2007, 18:01   #1

Boat: 26' Clipper Marine
Send a message via AIM to Drexel Engineer
Need expert advice....

I have a guy who is willign to sell me a 1974 Columbia 26'. It has a movable centerboard. The inside of it is fairly rough. I am very new to sailing but woudl like to take this on as a project. I am an mech engineer so I think I can design and build parts as well as do most of the wood work. I looked at the sails in there bag and they look fine, not that I know too much about them. The sails had no satins or tears and were not brittle. So what do you think? Oh yea...he will sell it to me for $250...just wants to get rid of it; lost the will to sail because of the death of his wife.

here are some pics

http://h1.ripway.com/sdr352/overhead.JPG
http://h1.ripway.com/sdr352/profile.JPG
http://h1.ripway.com/sdr352/salon.JPG
http://h1.ripway.com/sdr352/salon2.JPG
http://h1.ripway.com/sdr352/vberth.JPG

Lookign farward to your praise or your appalled responses....

sorry for the spelling late for class.
Drexel Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 18:18   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Run don't walk!

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 18:23   #3
Building a Bateau TW28

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bateau TW28 Long Cabin
Go for it, but, plan on spending a couple of years worth of tuition for the rehab.
knottybuoyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 18:37   #4

Boat: Irwin 37 CC ketch 'Ta-Keel-Ah'