Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Indian Ocean & Red Sea
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-11-2009, 16:19   #1

pirate Advice on a Trip I'm Thinking About, Please

i'm totally new to the boat world and to this forum !but looking at a 53 ft x fishing trawler to convert into a nice habitable boat ( keeping the shape original ) it's top speed is 7 knots ish
with a 600 gallon fuel capacity using approx 2 gallon per hour . now as a dream really i'd like to travel from hull uk around france past greece through the suez and over to west sumartra and malaysia .
have any of you guys done anything like this ? and bearing in mind fuel costs bribes at the suez and hopefully not getting caught by the pirates!! how much and how long would it take and is it even possible ????.
many thanks woody
woodyapex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2009, 17:08   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
it's top speed is 7 knots ish with a 600 gallon fuel capacity using approx 2 gallon per hour.
I'm not sure I believe the numbers. Gallons I suppose could be correct as it's objective. Consumption seems quite low unless we are talking flat calm water. I can't see it doing 7 knots at 2 gallons in any kind of weather. Unless you could sustain good speed in heavy weather it could be a nightmare. Powered boats when under powered are very unstable. The nature of the boat and engine would make a difference. Fishing trawlers are not normally thought of as ocean passage making boats. Most long distance fishing boats would be larger.

Quote:
how much and how long would it take and is it even possible ?