Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-07-2019, 06:59   #1

Boat: Hunter 33 "Cherubini" (1982)
Yanmar 2GM20F fuel filter maintenence

So I'm a total newbie to maintaining diesel engines, so apologies in advance if these are dumb questions.

For changing or cleaning the primary (smaller) fuel filter (recommended to clean every 50 hrs), do I need to shut off the fuel supply from the fuel tank first?

Seems like I should to prevent the whole system from draining out but I don't see this mentioned in videos on youtube. Then to get air out I suppose I re-open the fuel supply first before trying the manual pump to prime it, right?

Secondary filter:
To just drain water from a Racor filter I can just open the screw at the bottom, right?. I've heard that this procedure does not require fuel supply to be cut off first. Do I need to open the bleeder screw at top for this procedure? Do I need to do any bleeding or priming after that? Replacing it is different but just want to drain water for now.
paulg222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2019, 07:39   #2

Boat: Hunter 33 "Cherubini" (1982)
Re: Yanmar 2GM20F fuel filter maintenence

Also I may have gotten primary and secondary mixed up above I'm actually not sure which one is considered primary. Anyway the smaller one is what I call primary above and is what is recommended to clean or change every 50 hrs according to manual.
paulg222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2019, 07:53   #3

Boat: Catalina 36

The primary is closest to the tank - your Racor. You do not need to turn off fuel or open top to drain water