Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2017, 16:53   #1

Boat: TBD
Insider Advvice on Getting More Experience

Hello,

I'm fairly new to sailing; taken a basic course and I volunteer with a boat on Lake Champlain, so I've probably been out about 8 times not counting the formal course. My wife and I are thinking about buying a boat at some point in the future when I retire from the military.

I'm looking for a little advice on how to get more experience, especially on the ocean. I'm wondering if it would be a good idea (maybe next year after I've learned more about navigation) to charter a boat somewhere on the east coast of the US. Or should we do something in the Bahamas. If the US is an option, any suggestions on where? I was thinking maybe Maryland or the Carolinas.

Also, and maybe this is the better route to go at this point, I've thought about joining a crew for a 1 week sail down the east coast. Is this feasible? It seems like a lot of people are looking for these kind of opportunities, making it tough to find. What's thee best way to find something like this?
m2244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 17:05   #2

Boat: Valiant 40
Re: Insider Advvice on Getting More Experience

Volunteering as crew on a passage is an excellent way of gaining experience. Provided you choose who you go with wisely, you get the benefit of their experience. You'll learn a tremendous amount, much faster than just heading out on your own.