Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-06-2010, 17:46   #1

Bareboat Chartering a Small Cruiser - The insider View

Hi everyone,

I've been sailing for the past 5 years now, and am toying with the idea of buying a solid cruiser, somewhere in the 35' range. I'm wondering if it's possible to set the boat up as a bareboat charter, and charter it out enough to break even for the year on cost.

I've been looking around the interwebs to try and find some advice on doing this (good or bad), and am finding surprisingly little, and would appreciate everyone's advice that have done more research on this, or actually done it themselves.

I'm currently in the Boston area, which only has a 6-month sailing season. My goal would be:

1. Get to sail as much as possible myself
2. Make enough off chartering during the season for the boat to pay for itself.

Obviously I understand it would take a good amount of time/work/advertising/etc. I'm not interested in captaining the boat (God forbid being cooped up with strangers for a week!). My questions are mostly about whether this is even feasible/legal, and what flaming hoops you'd have to jump through to make it happen.

Thanks for any advice, and sorry if this has been exhaustively covered before here in the forums (I didn't see anything immediately with a search).
Subcloner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2010, 18:33   #2

Send a message via Yahoo to bvimatelot Send a message via Skype™ to bvimatelot
Well - This is, of course, many peoples' dream: to offset the costs of running the boat by chartering it out. The problem here is at least twofold: