Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2015, 10:46   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Coast Guard

Any Coasites out there? My 19 yr old Son goes to see the Recruiter on Tues, need a little advice on MOS's etc. What CG life is really like, where a Junior enlisted would live etc. Which if any MOS's to avoid, which are considered to be the one you want.
He is extremely comfortable in the water, way more than most, he is certified as a Full cave diver etc. But other wise just a High School grad without any special skills beyond the diving thing and being comfortable on boats etc.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 11:10   #2

Boat: CLC Skerry
Re: Coast Guard

I'm a Coast Guard vet (1968-71) and now in the CG Auxiliary, helping the local CG station with training and morale (morale = food). CG boot camp was physically and mentally tough. They said only Marine boot camp was tougher. Your son will get yelled at and challenged. He'll be put into the best physical shape and mental condition he'll ever be in. And he'll be able to say, for the rest of his life, "I graduated from Cape May; I can do anything." As far as specialties go, and if he's undecided at this point, I'd recommend that he just get qualified at basic duties and watch what other rates do for a few months. Plenty of time to choose whether to stay and to pick a career path, or leave with a big plus mark on his resume, ready to take on his next challenge.
rhubstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 11:24   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters

'72 - '76. Long time ago, much has changed.