Cruisers Forum
 


Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-06-2018, 15:26   #61
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 10,280
Re: Where to locate Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailorlou View Post
Your drawings are correct.

.....When you haul your boat out of the water the transformer is not required. The drawing you have for out of the water connection basically defeats the transformer and uses the shore power neutral to ground connection by connecting shore ground to ships ground.
Got it, .....but I was wondering WHY on the Drydock wiring they bypass the Isolation Transformer?

I guessed it may be in case of any welding going on, as they always ask me to disconnect batteries if welding stainless on my steel boat, or making a new transducer box.

Is there any other reason Victron advise you make this bypass?
Pelagic is offline  
Old 24-06-2018, 16:20   #62
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 243
Re: Where to locate Galvanic Isolator

Dotdun, thanks.. I was thinking along the same lines..
that way there is no reference..and no current.


connecting to shield within the isolation transformer..I would be interesting in hearing about the why??


I would put an Isolation transformer in my boat if I had room.. I had just enough room for a 4x6 heatsink with diodes for the galvanic isolator..


-dkenny64
dkenny64 is offline  
Old 24-06-2018, 18:18   #63
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 243
Re: Where to locate Galvanic Isolator

Ahmet,


I argee that is why there should be a galvanic isolator between shore ground and the boats DC ground..yes? a direct connection would allow stray currents from the AC ground into one's boat.. FYI I measured 150ma on this wire using a current loop on my boat..before I install a galvanic isolator..no transformer.



so where does the boat AC ground fit in? anywhere? if one has an isolation transformer.


-dkenny64
dkenny64 is offline  
Old 24-06-2018, 19:16   #64
Registered User

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Carolina
Boat: Hunter 54
Posts: 127
Re: Where to locate Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkenny64 View Post
Ahmet,


I argee that is why there should be a galvanic isolator between shore ground and the boats DC ground..yes? a direct connection would allow stray currents from the AC ground into one's boat.. FYI I measured 150ma on this wire using a current loop on my boat..before I install a galvanic isolator..no transformer.



so where does the boat AC ground fit in? anywhere? if one has an isolation transformer.


-dkenny64

Hello dkenny64,
150mA AC current through the shore power grounding conductor is five times greater than the maximum permissible leakage so we have a problem here.
I recommend an ohms measurement with your multimeter. Unplug your shore power cable at the dock and measure ohms from the ground pin to the Neutral, it should be an open circuit. (ie infinite ohms)
If you read low ohms someone may have jumpered the neutral to ground on board which is not right. Find the jumper and remove it.

If you encounter other problems, start a new post and we will figure it out.

Boat's AC ground is typically a bussbar with conductors from common battery negative bus, engine block, metal thru hulls, shaft brush, lightning protection cables, metal tanks, any other large metal objects, etc. The shore power grounding conductor should also connect to the boats AC ground through the galvanic isolator.
If you don't already have a galvanic isolator, you can buy one for $300 or I can help you build the same for $10 or a truly superior one for $30 and it will work much better than the store bought galvanic isolator and would be much safer than the $1000 mis-wired isolation transformer.
Don't let them rip you off and sell you useless garbage my friend.
Ahmet
Ahmet Erkan is offline  
Old 24-06-2018, 19:44   #65
Moderator Emeritus
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Jacksonville/ out cruising
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 31,351
Where to locate Galvanic Isolator

There has been so much incorrect data, and poor manners displayed Iím going to lock this thread and see what we can do to clean it up.
a64pilot is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
galvanic isolator

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Location for a Galvanic Isolator rkrafter Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 13-05-2011 07:51
Galvanic Isolator Wiring pilgrim_40 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 20-12-2010 15:59
Galvanic Isolator CAELESTIS Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 63 22-09-2010 08:31
Galvanic Isolator Installation redcobra Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 15-06-2009 07:12
Galvanic Isolator Testing Sunspot Baby Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 05-10-2007 11:47

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:46.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.