Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2010, 04:37   #1

Boat: Reinke, 15m, Present
Victron Multiplus PC Connection

Goodmorning.
Anybody here with knowledge of the Victron VEconfigure program and the way to hook a Multiplus on to a PC?
I can't get the two to communicate while program, driver, cable, everything is installed ok. Victron gives no tech support.

Thanks for your time.
Len.
svpresent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:56   #2
Commercial Member

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Gulfstar Long Range Trawler; 53'; BearBoat
I have a lot of experience with VEconfigure. You do not mention the VE Interface dongle. Which model are you using; serial or USB?

Charlie
"The Devil is in the details and so is salvation."
CharlieJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 11:05   #3

VEconfigure

Hi Charlie,

I have a 3 months old Multiplus 12/3000/120 and a MK2 USB adapter
I downloaded and installed the driver, which I installed without connecting the adapter first and triggering Windows 7 to ask for a driver-cd. But installation went fine as far as I can establish.
Then I installed VEconfigure 2 because the Multiplus is controlled by software version is 1.90.

When I start VEconfigure, I can succesfully choose a com port.
This comport is then shown with a round "button" behind the port number in the VE configure menu option.

VE configure then asks to connect cable and switch on device.
I do that and then nothing happens. No matter how often I try or which order I choose or which UTP plug I use, I just cannot get the settings screen.

The MK2 USB adapter is fine, I used it on another boat and no probs.
The UTP-cable is no suspect either because of the same reason. I really have no idea where to look.

I tried my other XP computer and no luck, same story.