Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-01-2022, 10:45   #46

Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Re: Potting epoxy for bilge pump connections

I have a box of the solder connectors, but rarely use them.

Regular crimp on connectors with a spot of NoAlox, works fine.

The connections outlast the pump.
capn_billl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2022, 13:19   #47

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bycrick View Post
I can never find the "satire" font when I need it.
At another forum where I'm an admin, we solved a similar problem by adopting the convention that anything written in purple text was sarcasm. That solved a whole lot of misunderstandings and arguments literally overnight.
Old 29-01-2022, 20:45   #48

Boat: Slocum 43

In the mining industry we used a simple 2 pot epoxy joint for instrumentation. I used this to 1200m water head. Stagger strip the wires and intertwine each pair so no short can occur. Run a short length of plastic pipe or metal tube for 30-40mm each side of the staggers. Place upright and seal the bottom. Fill with epoxy. The wires will wick the glue up and down by capillary. The disadvantage is you will have a stiff joint about 100mm (4") long. Cheap and easy to do and effective.
ssMakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2022, 22:23   #49

Boat: Rinker 24