Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-08-2013, 13:41   #16

Re: Mastervolt Whisper Power 3.5kw

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Volkswagen Beetles were also "oil cooled", meaning they had a little oil cooler in the air blower stream. Most people call that air cooled.
Not sure if the Beetles had raw water circulating through the oil cooler (heat exchanger) though. It seems to me, it is not "air cooled" as you would like to think however, I am not an engineer.
nautic a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 13:56   #17

Boat: PT-11

Certainly not air cooled. Mine has 1139+ hard hours on it and is running strong. Regular maintenance is all that its had. No complaints about it other than support is a little shaky since the sale to whispergen. They seem to be getting their act together though.
SVNeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 17:58   #18

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Cruising North Sea and Baltic (Summer)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautic a

Not sure if the Beetles had raw water circulating through the oil cooler (heat exchanger) though. It seems to me, it is not "air cooled" as you would like to think however, I am not an engineer.