Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-08-2014, 11:21   #1

Galvanic corrosion or Stray current? NEW PICS!!

I've uploaded a new photo album! Please look for a superhero in my profile...

I only learned my title's terminology today in relation to what is not the the umbrella term called "electrolysis." I'm leaning towards stray current damage, but I'm new to all of this. I have a spare prop, but could use some help from here and a Floridian company with expertise. I want to fix everything but don't want the problem to come back and no one I know seems to know what to do in my scenario. I'm open to everything from galvanic isolators to auditioning for the boat version of "Pimp My Ride" should such a day come round.

I can make the bottom fair smooth, repaint and LOOK great. What I don't want is to have an unresolved problem re-eat my boat, $$$ and work put in, and especially don't want to sink. My prop shaft/prop, rudder shaft/rudder need to be replaced. I have a great unknown with that keel part (see pics!) from the previous owner. Please leave chastising re: surveyors at the door for this thread. I've since learned what I didn't know.

The lead keel part has the texture of the moon. I can re-epoxy everything, but I can't verify the integrity nor existence of any horizontal bolts holding it in. I see 6-7 visible keel bolts under the floor panels in the salon. Those are in decent shape, but how do I know if my metal eating issue has or has not hurt the supports holding this part on?
Captain Pappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2014, 11:38   #2
Hull Diver