Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-07-2018, 02:30   #1
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 1,838
Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Hi,

had to change the Nav PC. Now on Windows 10.

I can get OpenCPN OR NavmonPC to read the virtual serial port (in my case COM5) of the Miniplex 3 USB NMEA converter.
My mouse problem is solved too.

Still, if I try to do it the way, I used to do on the old XP machine, which means setting NavmonPC up that it sends data to another virtual port (In my case COM16) I have trouble connecting OpenCPN to receive data on that port instead of COM5.
NavmonPC definitely sends data to this port.
Basically I want to loop the Miniplex data through NavmonPC to OpenCPN.

Under XP that worked.
I also tried a TCP server from NavmonPC, which puts out data. Still OpenCPN does not show this data either.

Any suggestions?

Many thanks,

Franziska
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2018, 02:43   #2
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,601
Images: 4
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Franziska, I've used both NMPC's virtual serial ports and the NMPC TCP/IP server to send Miniplex (and other) data to OCPN on Win10 systems. It sounds like you've got the virtual ports setup, but do make sure they are working by using (say) Putty or another terminal program.

I assume you are familiar with the fact that the virtual ports that NMPC can install do not work under 64-bit Windows, so you need to install Franson GPSgate (or whatever they are calling the free one) in order to get working virtual port drivers.

None of which explains why your TCP/IP server connection is failing. All I can tell you is that it works for me on every version of PC and Microsoft OS I've tried. Keep plugging away!
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2018, 04:33   #3
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again, currently in Pacific - Mexico
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,309
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franziska View Post
...


I also tried a TCP server from NavmonPC, which puts out data. Still OpenCPN does not show this data either.

Any suggestions?

Many thanks,

Franziska

Can you show us the TCP server settings in NavMonPc as well as the OpenCPN TCP input settings?


Without seeing it, I suggest you use (for both) the "localhost" internal IP address 127.0.0.1 and a port number like 11111 (just needs to be the same on both sides).



Dirk
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2018, 08:10   #4
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 1,838
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Hey guys. Many thanks, it's working.

Horray!

I used the TCP route. I'm not a network administrator so got confused by adress and port.
Using the same port and setting the adress in OpenCPN helped. No need to set the adress in NavmonPC.

Paul thanks as well for the hint with the 64bit serial port issue. I was not aware of that.

All good now.
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2019, 06:48   #5
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 1,838
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Paul, one more time :-)

I changed computers, this time it will hopefully last long.

It's a 64bit windows installation this time.

I have installed Franson runtime serial tools. But got no virtual ports. I tried to find a download link again but did not find one suitable for the 64bit machine.

So I used a virtual port software from github called com0com instead. It's free and should do the job as well.
Now I can see two pairs of virtual serial ports.

My NMEA serial port is com4.
The comOcom virtual ports show up as com5 and com6 in device manager and in Navmonpc.

I choose com4 as input in NavmonPC and can see the NMEA data.
If I run OpenCPN with that port it works as well.

If I choose com5 as output in NavmonPC Virtual Port A I can see the data output stream in NavmonPC but not in OpenCPN if I choose com5 as input.

So the pass-through to OpenCPN does not work.

Do you have a clue where I might go wrong?

Thanks for your help,

Franziska
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2019, 09:06   #6
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 14,453
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Quote:
If I choose com5 as output in NavmonPC Virtual Port A I can see the data output stream in NavmonPC but not in OpenCPN if I choose com5 as input.
Same settings in Opencpn? Maybe that is the problem. Or if you did change the incoming com port, perhaps try close and reboot?
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2019, 14:51   #7
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 1,838
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

I thought the sequence should be:

Actual NMEA serial port (com4 in my case) as input into Navmonpc.
Then setup a virtual serial port (com5 in my case) or network port in Navmonpc as output.
Than set this Navmonpc output port as input port to OpenCPN.

Funny thing is I see output in Navmonpc on my virtual serial port com5.
I just do not see incoming data in OpenCPN.

Maybe I need to reinstall Franson serial. Does anyone have a suitable link for the 64bit version?

Or a suitable freeware alternative? Maybe com0com is not the right tool.
Unfortunately I'm pretty clueless on network setups.
.
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2019, 17:32   #8
Moo
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 687
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franziska View Post
I thought the sequence should be:

Actual NMEA serial port (com4 in my case) as input into Navmonpc.
Then setup a virtual serial port (com5 in my case) or network port in Navmonpc as output.
Than set this Navmonpc output port as input port to OpenCPN.

Funny thing is I see output in Navmonpc on my virtual serial port com5.
I just do not see incoming data in OpenCPN.

Maybe I need to reinstall Franson serial. Does anyone have a suitable link for the 64bit version?

Or a suitable freeware alternative? Maybe com0com is not the right tool.
Unfortunately I'm pretty clueless on network setups.
.
I don't think you need to worry about a special 64bit version of GPSgate (or whatever it is that Franson are currently calling it) as I think there is only one version. It works fine on Windows 10.
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2019, 00:32   #9
cruiser

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 5,031
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Can't you just connect opencpn straight to the miniplex?
Seems a lot of unnecessary complexity going through other software first?
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2019, 14:36   #10
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Panschwitz, Germany
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 1,838
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Actually GPSgate does the trick.
It receives the serial port NMEA and distributes it to two virtual serial ports, one for OpenCPN and one for NavmonPC.

True, no special 64bit version required.

Once more I was confused that OpenCPN does not show the virtual serial ports. You actually have to type the port number (i.e. Com5) manually in.
Had forgotten about that.

All is fine now.

@Conachair
I could, but I like the advanced dashboard and wind monitoring of NavmonPC as well.
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2019, 15:27   #11
cruiser

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 5,031
Re: Opencpn not accepting NavmonPC virtual port?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franziska View Post
@Conachair
I could, but I like the advanced dashboard and wind monitoring of NavmonPC as well.
Might be worth having a play with signalk, not that hard to set up on W10, install windows subsystem for linux then debian, then the raspberry pi signalk install instructions. It really is very powerful, logging everything to a database with graphs is great fun Maybe an hour or so to install and just uninstall WSL if you don't like it.
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, opencpn

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Native Virtual Com Port integration with OpenCPN Peter McNamara OpenCPN 0 27-08-2014 00:16
OpenCPN not recognising Virtual COM port LifePart2 OpenCPN 92 24-04-2014 10:08
OpenCPN does not see STM32 virtual port in MAC OSX GREENGHOST OpenCPN 9 24-02-2014 13:40
OpenCPN not accepting NMEA data from NEXUS server cblake OpenCPN 6 28-06-2013 15:04
NavMonPC NMEA monitor tool RBEmerson Marine Electronics 2 16-02-2009 17:01

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.