Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-12-2008, 23:50   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Passport 47 CC
Send a message via Yahoo to SV Someday Came
Weather Satellite Imaging

I don't care -- I am soooooo stoked!! But.... I will control my enthusiasm to make a factual post. The attached images were imaged on my boat tonight. It is my first attempt. I caught NOAA 17 for about 11 minutes tonight. Closest pass was 499 miles. Say this is silly and not really about sailing. Say I don't know the theory. Say WhatEVer.

But using this software: WXtoImg: software to decode APT and WEFAX signals from weather satellites

And my mac laptop (and all running on DC power!!!)

And this receiver: Weather Satellite Station - Wettersatelliten NOAA Receiver and Antenna

And this antenna: http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...icture696.html

I imaged my first ever weather satellite image in real time at 0516 UTC Dec 18 2008. From MY boat. From a DC system I helped rewire. Using knowledge about amps and grounding I learned here!!!

Ayways, I have no life, so I am sharing my joy here. I have the complete set up documented in my albums on my profile.

Damn! I am excited!

BTW: The cross is where my boat is!!

Yippeeee!!!

Michael
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	First NOAA Image.jpg
Views:	574
Size:	478.2 KB
ID:	6319   Click image for larger version

Name:	NOAA 17 Contrast.jpg
Views:	357
Size:	476.1 KB
ID:	6320  

SV Someday Came is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2008, 05:23   #2

Boat: Challenger Anacapa 42
Two things; first THAT IS FREAKIN' COOL!, and second, the satellite sends down an image that has a map already imposed on it? HUH? I take it that these images were processed and uploaded to the satellite you downloaded from...