Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 05:19   #1

Boat: Endeavour 43
Ham Exam

Good morning all
I just wanted to say that I went to the Seven Seas Cruising Association GAM this weekend and passed the Technical and General exam. I got encouraged to take the exam only two weeks ago by my cousins wife who was an Extra class ham. I went to several websites that had been recommended on this forum and settled on

www.hamstudy.org.

I just studied the flash cards which had the underlying explanation on the flip side of the card. Probably one of the biggest factors in my success was the ability to study the cards in small groups based on the subject material and also to see the areas that I was weak in.

I am now studying for the Extra class and hope to take that soon. I hope this help someone down the road who thought about taking the exam but felt intimidated by the material.
Have a Great Day
brankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 06:00   #2

Re: Ham Exam

Good for you. Passing the tests is not nearly as hard as some people seem to think.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 06:25   #3

Boat: Heritage 35
Thumbs up Re: Ham Exam

Congrats!! It now opens a whole new world to you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brankin View Post
Good morning all
I just wanted to say that I went to the Seven Seas Cruising Association GAM this weekend and passed the Technical and General exam. I got encouraged to take the exam only two weeks ago by my cousins wife who was an Extra class ham. I went to several websites that had been recommended on this forum and settled on

www.hamstudy.org.