Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

View Poll Results: Are you interested?
Yes 0 0%
No 1 100.00%
I want to help! 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2016, 08:50   #1

Boat: Island Packet 31
Cerulean Submergence ForeSight

I'm a hardware developer who's been watching the open source movement with interest for many years. Recently, open source hardware is becoming more and more available. I've been wanting this movement to take hold with marine electronics but it's been slow. I'd like to change that.

I'm envisioning an open source marine electronics hardware community that provides open alternatives to the closed versions available by big companies. I'd like to offer hardware to those that can't make it themselves, yet keep things open for tinkerers and people who want to truly own their things.

I have a number of items in mind but to start the process, I've been developing something I'm calling ForeSight. It's an e-paper multifunction display for displaying data in the cockpit. Think of it as an e-paper version of a Garmin GMI20 or Raymarine i70s. It's a product that I've wanted for a long time but hasn't been available.

Here are some specs for ForeSight:

4.2" e-paper display with fast update
Wifi using an Arduino compatible ESP8266-12e
Data input from marine devices using two NMEA 0183 inputs (RS422)
Multiplex inputs to single NMEA 0183 output (RS422)
One CAN bus port (NMEA2000)
Ambient light sensor with RGB e-paper lighting
ARM processor via an Arduino compatible Teensy 3.2
Capacitive touch front panel controls
Supercap for clean power down
Low power, wide input (12-24v)