Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-03-2020, 11:14   #1

Boat for Florida Keys

Hello,
I have an unusual situation, due to my age & military service, I have the opportunity to live in the Florida Keys for 3 years.
I am looking for a boat to live on, Scuba dive from and fish a little bit.
I have lots of experience with RV life, and I fully expect the boat life to have even more of the challenges that come with living in/on anything small. That being said, what type of boat would you recommend for living on and Scuba, and traveling the Caribbean, Not really interested in crossing the Atlantic. I am a passable mechanic, and so far I have been looking at Trawlers, Motorsailers, and the like. Price Range 100-250K

Thank you all.
Forklord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2020, 12:14   #2

Boat: Seawind 1000xl
Re: Boat for Florida Keys

My first impression is you may wanna eliminate travel to the Caribbean. This still leaves the Keys and Bahamas which is a very big place you will not be able to completely visit in three years. The first consideration in any boat that will be cruising is ground tackle and anchoring in the Keys and Bahamas is much different than in most of the Caribbean; much shallower and sand rather than rock bottom.

Another big consideration is how easy it is get on and off the boat, especially if you are diving. This usually means a nice big sugar scoop with a solid boarding ladder. Storing tanks for SCUBA may turn into a bigger deal than you first think. Even for a weekend trip you may be doing two or three dives a day which means at least six tanks (for you and a buddy) and maybe more depending on the number of divers.