Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2008, 13:29   #1

Buying a used Catamaran and have some ??'s

I'm praying that these economic problems will be overcome by this spring, 1. so I can sell my house, 2. so I can get a loan on a yacht, which now I think would be impossible.
For a US resident, where would the best place for me to buy a catamaran be? I'm looking at Leopard 40's and 47's in the $200-300k range. Is there a tax advantage to buy one in BVI or another country vs. buying one in Florida? I'm currently a Tennessee resident and plan on living/cruising this boat out of country for a few years. Anyone think the tax on buying a yacht will change dramatically as a result of the new president (increase if one gets elected decrease if the other does) starting in '09?
Thanks,
Kug
kkugley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2008, 13:44   #2

Boat: Privilege 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkugley View Post
I'm praying that these economic problems will be overcome by this spring, 1. so I can sell my house, 2. so I can get a loan on a yacht, which now I think would be impossible.
I love an enthusiastic optimist

Like you, I am waiting on a house sail, but that not only depends on the economic situation, but also on my ex getting off her butt and selling the place.

Believe me, the ecomomic uncertaintany pales into insignificance!
Old 13-10-2008, 15:13   #3

South Africa seems a good place to buy with US $ at the moment.
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2008, 16:04   #4

Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only