Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-05-2021, 16:16   #1

Boat: Hunter Cherubini 33
ICW from NY to Galveston

Has anyone made the journey from New York to Galveston via the ICW. I’m buying a new to me hunter 33 Cherubini in immaculate condition but the problem is it’s located in NY. I’m sure there will be some flaming here but I have experience in fresh water but have been doing a lot of research and want the live aboard lifestyle. I’m a travel nurse and time really isn’t a factor as I can take jobs on the way if I have to. I don’t know my way around a sailboat very well but I’m excited to learn, prior to being a nurse I was a mechanic so I know my way around diesels pretty well. The boat I’m buying had a good survey and everything is sound structurally and mechanically. I will be motoring because the boat does not have a main. I plan on buying a new mainsail but right now my plan is to just motor. Flame on or any constructive info is welcomed. Thanks
ekelly36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2021, 16:51   #2

Re: ICW from NY to Galveston

That is about 2,400 miles of continuous watchful navigating, unfortunately boats are not yet autonomous in their driving in narrow channels and contending with close boat traffic. You will be an expert in motoring a canal by the time you get to Galveston and likely wishing to be able to turn off the iron jib, raise your new mainsail and do some real sailing in open water.

Your traveling nurse career provides for a lot of freedom as to moseying along, stopping where the opportunity for contract work is desirable, or just wanting to tour the local area.

Wishing you all the best.

Enjoy.
Montanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2021, 16:54   #3

Boat: Carver,Cobia,Nacra, Columbia