Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2022, 04:21   #76

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge
Re: Best iPad chart/navigation app

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
iSailor has the best app. It does 2-way NMEA communications over Wifi, meaning that you get to control your autopilot with it as well. Very good AIS support, but no radar overlay like OpenCPN can.

This brings it to the charts: iSailor can only use their own charts but they are worldwide and come from Transas. There are (at least years ago when I studied this) only two approved electronic chart sets for commercial shipping and those are C-Map and Transas. Having C-Map in your plotter and Transas on the iPad is a winning combination.

Lots has been written about AquaMap and most of itis the use of Explorer charts for the Bahamas… but those are in C-Map as well.

There was incorrect info posted about costs for iSailor. Options like heading and wind sensors, AIS etc. are all one time charges, not yearly fees and they are rather low charges as well. For the charts you pay a yearly fee, but when you stop paying, you don’t lose the charts, you just don’t get updates anymore.

Besides some disliking Apple products there is no good reason to not put iSailor at #1 imho. I have never seen any other app doing anything better.

I wanted to like iSailor, but...

Aqua Map's survey data is useful in our case, and...

Wartsila apparently isn't doing an updated iSailor version for the latest Android operating system. I can still use it on our older tablet, but then again our newer/larger tablet is better suited to the task...