Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-04-2013, 08:24   #1

Boat: Colvin, Saugeen Witch (Aluminum), 34'
Beaching Leg

I fabricated this beaching leg to allow occasional cleaning of both sides of my hull bottom during only 1 tide.

The 1 inch bolt at the top will secure to the Gunwale through an unused chain plate pad. I will rig lines to the foot running forward and aft to control pivoting until loaded.

I have no experience with a beaching leg and I am not sure if the surface area of the "foot" portion is large enough to prevent sinking. My boat displaces about 14K lbs. and I have sized the leg length to allow a 10 deg. list. I will use an anchor on a halyard to keep things going the right way.

I will seek sand or gravel beaches only - no soft mud.

Does this look like a workable set up?

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	888 004.jpg
Views:	349
Size:	415.3 KB
ID:	59136   Click image for larger version

Name:	888 005.jpg
Views:	460
Size:	413.1 KB
ID:	59137  

Name:	888 007.jpg
Views:	427
Size:	414.4 KB
ID:	59138   Click image for larger version

Name:	888 008.jpg
Views:	350
Size:	411.0 KB
ID:	59139  

Panope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2013, 13:59   #2

Boat: Custom 41' Steel Pilothouse Cutter
Re: Beaching Leg

That's an interesting project. I know next to nothing about the topic, other than basic physics suggests two of those going fore and aft of the chain plate attachment point might work a little better, with a drop-in cross-piece to tie the "feet" together at a fixed distance.