Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2023, 17:05   #1

Boat: Home built - steel 45' cutter
Winch Teeth Wear - What is acceptable?

I'm kind of afraid to ask because I think I know what the answer is going to be...

I'm taking apart and cleaning all the cockpit winches. I noticed on this one the teeth inside the cover are quite pointy. On bicycle gears that would be a sign of wear and could lead to chain slipping. One presumes the same would be true for winches but I'm a newbie to winch maintenance. Certainly the 2 winches that I've already cleaned had wider teeth.
There is some beveling going on as well, on what is the top of the teeth in the photo, but would be the bottom of the teeth when the cover is installed.
Susurros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 17:27   #2

re: Winch Teeth Wear - What is acceptable?

Mine have wider teeth, as you said your others do.

I found worn and "pointy" teeth on one of the internal gears and replaced it. I could see metal filings so it was clear something was wrong that the PO had not addressed. I thought there must be some underlying cause for the wear on just this one gear and was expecting to see the new one wear too, since I hadn't really fixed anything. But after a couple of seasons, no wear yet.

If nothing else on yours is worn, perhaps just replacing the shell will be all that's needed. If its Lewmar, drums don't seem too expensive: https://www.mauriprosailing.com/us/c...res-Drums.html
leecea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 17:35   #3

Boat: Sabre 402