Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-04-2013, 21:54   #1
always in motion is the future

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64
More work: soft shackles

Pfff... doing everything yourself is tiring now and then Today, I studied soft shackles in their different forms, how strong they are etc. My conclusion is that the time to start using these is now, as my stainless shackles are getting old...

I made three shackles using three different lines:

1. 1/8" Samsom Amsteel Blue,in gray at 2,500lb breaking strength
2. 3/16" New England Endura 12 in white at 5,800lb breaking strength
3. 1/4" Samsom Amsteel Blue, in blue at 8,600lb breaking strength

The theoretical strength of these is 4 times the strength of the line used, as there are 4 strands between load and anchor point. However, the diamond knot that is used as a stopper almost loses 75% of the strength again so that minimum breaking load is only just over 100% of line strength. Tests show between 103% and 120%. So it's safe to go for strength equal as the strength of the line used.

Example: my jib sheets are New England Regatta Braid 1/2" @ 7,000 lb breaking strength. The 3/16" shackle, even though strong enough for the jib, is not as strong as the sheet used so I should go for the 1/4" shackle which is much stronger. This allows me to splice my sheets and attach them with the soft shackle to the jib clew. I can do that smartly so that the diamond knot sits inside the clew so that it will never hang up on rigging again.

But the main thing is to replace stainless steel shackles of-course. Let check standard short D-shackles from Wichard for some often used diameters:

5/32" pin: 1,550lb breaking load
3/16" pin: 2,200lb breaking load
1/4" pin: 3,525lb breaking load
5/16" pin: 5,950lb breaking load