Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2022, 14:03   #1

Boat: Gulf Coast 18 sailboat
Gulf Coast 18 Mast Step and Gooseneck

Hello all,

I'm just getting into a project and could use some help. It's a Gulf Coast 18 that was abandoned on a property with several other small sailboats. I have what I THINK is a workable mast and boom for it (separated from boat on property), but I'm missing part of the mast step or hinge and the gooseneck between the mast and the boom. The mast and boom are the same aluminum extrusion as the support inside the boat, and a piece of the step/hinge is still attached to the house top, but the bottom of the mast is open and missing the other half of the hinge. My online searches for this boat have yielded little info, so if someone has pictures of these pieces or knows where to find some literature it would REALLY help. If I know what I'm looking for, I can check back with the gentleman who I bought the boat from.

When I picked out the mast and boom, there were several there and I picked a pair that matched the aluminum extrusion, had the most hardware, and were long enough to cut down if needed. If the right mast and boom isn't available or new parts aren't available, I'm confident I can fabricate pieces for the ones I have, but I don't want to reinvent the wheel or make a completely bastard boat if I don't have to. Other than the bottom of the mast and the gooseneck, I'll need new sails, new rope, and some other small hardware, but I'll get to that latter.

I'll also add that the boom was made by Proctor Masts if that matters.

(Sorry, I'll add pictures of what I have once I figure out how to do it on this forum.)

Thanks!
M.B. Naegle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2022, 15:31   #2

Re: Gulf Coast 18 Mast Step and Gooseneck