Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2024, 12:46   #1

Strange Head Behavior

I have a Jabsco and a Raritan, both manual. Recent the Jabsco was unused for a few days and when I returned the pump would fight me in the push down of the handle when in flush position. Drain was not the issue as in dry mode it pumped freely and would pump out added water from the shower nozzle just fine. Then, after buying a new pump and planning to replace it and rebuild the old one it freed up and now works fine....the joke was it saw the new one on the counter.
NOW the Raritan is doing the same thing. Was not unused at all just started up after last pump out. Only when pushing down in flush mode it pushes back. In dry mode it too pumps fine and adding water from the shower it pumps it our freely.
Anyone who understands the operation of these have a suggestion on what the cause is and why intermittent like this? Never happened before...
Thank you!
Wanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2024, 13:07   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: Strange Head Behavior

If it's happening with both toilets, I'm guessing that the problem is a blocked holding tank vent.

All tank vents have two main functions: to provide an escape for air displaced by incoming contents and provide a source of air to replace contents as they're pulled out. When air displaced by incoming waste cannot escape out the vent the tank becomes pressurized, creating increasing back pressure that prevents the toilet from flushing.

Without a source of air to replace contents as they're being sucked out of the tank, the pump will pull a vacuum that'll prevent it from pulling out more than a gallon or two. A particularly strong pumpout can even implode a tank.