Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Propellers & Drive Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2014, 03:53   #1
KDH

Boat: Wauquiez Centurian 42'
Remove Prop shaft from Hurth HBW 150 transmission

I usually do the engine work on our Perkins 4.108 which is mounted with the belts aft and the transmission forward in the engine compartment. The prop shaft goes under the engine and into the Hurth transmission at an angle. It appears to be secured with two keys and a very large hex nut and pin which protrudes from the coupling. The problem is that neither myself nor my husband can break this nut loose without the shaft turning. I've never done this before and the last propeller shaft my husband removed was on a twin otter aircraft over 40 years ago. We need to remove the shaft from the coupling and back it out far enough to change the bellows on the PSS shaft seal while we are on the hard. Can't find any videos on you tube showing this configuration, have checked the Nigel Calder book and no luck. Is there a trick to this I'm missing? Have spent hours reviewing the forum threads as well. Any tips or hints greatly appreciated as I don't want to hire a mechanic to do what should be relatively simple. Currently in Ireland and this job is the only thing keeping us in the yard! Many thanks, Kim
KDH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 05:43   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: JEANNEAU,BENETAU,BAVARIA etc.
Re: Remove Prop shaft from Hurth HBW 150 transmission

Quote:
Originally Posted by KDH View Post