Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-12-2023, 23:04   #1

Free/Paid Maritime Course Materials

Hey all, I live here in Australia and am looking to enroll in some courses in the new year, more just pursuing an interest right now but am looking for a career change eventually.
So, my plan is to enroll in Coxswains Grade 1 and then CERT IV In Maritime Operations (Masters 45 her in Aus).
As I won't be starting the course until the end of Feb, I'm wondering if anyone can recommend some reference materials, textbooks, or free courses that I can study in the meantime to prepare?
Really, if you can recommend anything that you think might help give me a head start I would be super grateful.
I understand that there's no substitute for practical experience but that will come I'm sure.
I grew up on the coast here in Aus so I have a rec boat licence already and owned small fishing boats so not a total noob if that helps.

Anyways, thanks in advance for any advice.
SaltyNomad_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2023, 23:08   #2

Boat: Swarbrick S-80
Re: Free/Paid Maritime Course Materials

Here’s a good place to start:
Sailtrain: Training for RYA Competent Crew, Day Skipper, Coastal Skipper and Yachtmaster sailing courses.
ChrisJHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2023, 23:16   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisJHC View Post
Great! Thanks for the reply. I'll check this out.
Old 26-12-2023, 03:54   #4
Marine Service Provider

Check out Ardent Training, they offer a free trial to their RYA online theory courses. But you can also view their YouTube videos too which I really like.

There will be losts of other great learnings too online, but be careful with youtube videos and other free online content, best to check who has provided it and if they are just another 'self appointed expert' or if they are actually genuine maritime qualified instructors.
justkeepsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2023, 15:45   #5