Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-12-2014, 07:27   #16

Boat: Bavaria Cruiser 40
Re: Amateur Radio License - needed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FollowingCs View Post
I'm looking at taking the FCC Amateur Radio license Technician (first level) test tomorrow.

Any benefit to having this for cruising?

I'm an Electrical Engineer by schooling, so the tech questions are easy. The 'regulations' are a bit harder, but I know a good deal of them already.

- Ray
~ Following C's ~
Depends on where you are planning on cruising. It is a legal necessity in the UK for anyone using a radio transmitter to have a licence recognised by the Office of Telecommunications - such as the RYA Short Range Certificate for VHF for example. Other European countries require similar licences for users of radio transmitters. Generally if you have a VHF, HF or other certificate or licence issued by a recognised body these are accepted worldwide. The penalty for using a radio transmitter in the UK without a licence, except in a MayDay situation, is normally a steep fine and may include a ban from holding such a licence.

Keiron
kas_1611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2014, 07:51   #17

Boat: 1995 Privilege 51

Alright, you guys convinced me to take both tests on the same day, which will now be a more reasonable Jan 10th. I reviewed the General questions a bit, and it does seem fairly simple to just get those down as well, but not by 4:30 pm today.

The test today at 4:30 on New Year's Eve is more problematic than I thought, not realizing the Admiral's full Honey-Do list for today, since I'm off work of course...

- Ray
~ Following C's ~
FollowingCs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2014, 07:54   #18

Boat: Allied 39

Good luck to you. Be sure to try those suggested online study sites.

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Old 31-12-2014, 08:05   #19