Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2012, 20:36   #31

Boat: Lagoon 440
Send a message via Skype™ to impi
Quote:
Originally Posted by callmecrazy
I'm no expert, but I don't think the scope was the issue. Considering the multitude of other boats in the anchorage with similar scope. I find it very hard to believe that 4 more feet of scope would prevent the boat from dragging across the entire anchorage....

Sounds more like a fouled anchor, wind/current shift 180 degrees, boat drifts over anchor pulling it out (the OP's original conclusion, except it didn't matter that he let out more scope), anchor doesn't reset itself. Sounds very typical to me.
Makes sense!
impi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 20:49   #32

Re: Lesson Learned: When a Squall Comes Into an Anchorage

Related story here:

We were anchored at Santa Barbara island, here in So Cal. We were the last boat to arrive, we found the most open spot, anchored, and miraculously, ended up exactly where we wanted to be, no close neighbors. We have all chain, I think we did 4:1 scope, maybe more. I think once you've backed down and it's set (plow anchor), with chain, it runs along the bottom and comes straight up. I've found we can turn around completely at night, and still have not moved. I think we just rotate on it.

Anyway, as we went to bed, I noticed a boat moving around a bit.....wasn't surprised later that night to wake up with the boat thumping alongside. We pushed it off (apparently no one aboard) and it moved off. Went back to bed, and it happened again in the morning, so we left.