Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-07-2023, 05:53   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Mariner 39
Dunning-Kruger problem with my rudder

Posting in Sailor's Confessional, because I am not seeking advice so much as admitting ignorance and/or lack of skill.

I bought a new rudder for my Mariner 39. It came with pretty simple instructions: Scrub the PVA off the gelcoat, lightly sand the gelcoat to remove the shine, then apply the barrier coat. No problem. I can do that myself. After all, I stripped the swing keel on my previous boat to bare metal, then faired, then applied 6 layers of resin epoxy, then primer, then anti-fouling. I've got some experience. I've read the rudder manufacturer instructions. I've read the West Systems fiberglass manual. It all sounded straight-forward.

After preparing the surface, I started the barrier coat sequence. The first two layers were plain resin epoxy. The plan was to include a barrier coat additive in the next four layers. However, when checking the cure of the 2nd layer, I saw a problem. The epoxy was pulling away from spots: "fish eyes".

Clearly, I did not prepare the surface well enough. Maybe I did not get enough of the gloss off the gelcoat. Maybe my solvent wipe was not thorough enough. The only thing I am sure about is that I overestimated my ability to do the barrier coat.

The epoxy has had a week to fully cure now. I've had a week to reread all the instructions, review every CF thread discussing resin epoxy issues, and watch every YouTube video on barrier coats. So, the next steps are to thoroughly remove the amine blush, do another solvent wipe, then go back to sanding and much more careful attention to the pre-epoxy preparations. Wish me luck. And maybe some skill, too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20230722_112854.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	246.6 KB