Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2016, 02:35   #1

Sailing in the keys

Not sure if this is the right place to post, so correct me if it is.

My dad is retiring soon and wants to take his Hunter 240 down to the keys and spend a week sailing around goofing off. We would trailer the boat down. I'm a teacher and have the summers off so we could likely do it during June/July. Is it worth going down there in the summer? Any tips or advice are welcome.
Mac789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 03:14   #2

Re: Sailing in the keys

I assume that is a water ballast boat? Does it have the capability to have air conditioning at dock?

The keys are fantastic cruising ground in the summer but. It can get quite still, as in not much wind. Also it can get very shallow in areas. But. Lots of places to explore and stop along the way down to key west. Lots of anchorages for shallow draft boats.
I was planning a trip down with my Catalina 22. Before I moved to south fla.
hobopacket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 03:17   #3

It is a water ballast boat. We would bringing something for air conditioning.
Mac789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 04:37   #4

I think you would have a great time. A small dingy if you are going to anchor out often will be nice too.

Start in key largo and work your way south.
hobopacket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 07:57   #5

Do you know about the cost to put boat in a marina ? In my opinion it takes careful planning to stay in the keys, unless money is No concern. Where in the Keys ?
Sidney777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 08:02   #6

Boat: Hunter 33.5

There are a few sailing clubs in the Keys that can be found online and would be a great source of information for you.